Center for Responsible Business

Moskowitz Research Prize

The prestigious Moskowitz Prize is the only global award recognizing outstanding quantitative research in sustainable and responsible investing. Since its launch in 1996 by Berkeley-Haas and US SIF, its winners have explored shareholder activism, socially responsible mutual funds, and social responsible investing as a catalyst to financial performance, among other topics.

The prize is awarded by an expert panel of judges. The winner, announced at the annual SRI Conference, receives $5,000. Papers are judged on their:

  1. Practical significance to practitioners of sustainable and/or responsible investment
  2. Appropriateness and rigor of quantitative methods
  3. Novelty of results

The Moskowitz Prize is named for Milton Moskowitz, one of the first investigators to publish comparisons of the financial performance of screened and unscreened portfolios, including "The 100 Best Companies to Work for in America."

Call For Papers

For details on this year's prize, please download the Call for Papers.

Download Here


Submit an anonymized (only include title; remove author names) PDF of your paper though Submittable: via by June 30, 2017 11:59PM PST (GMT -7).
Go to
a.    Select "Moskowitz Prize for Responsible Investing 2017" and click the "Submit" button
b.    Create an account (this will allow you to log back in to view results at a later date)
c.    Scroll down, fill out the information marked with a red asterisk, and choose files to upload.
d.    Click "Submit" button.  You should receive an automated confirmation of your submission.


Regarding submissions contact Eva Visscher-Simon. General inquiries contact Lloyd Kurtz or Nadja Guenster.


Bailard    Calvert Group

First Affirmative Financial Network    Neuberger Berman Trillium Asset Management    Wells Fargo Private Bank